Media‎ > ‎Blog‎ > ‎Articles‎ > ‎

Google's "Undo Send" is now officially a feature.

posted 9 Jul 2015, 06:21 by Roelof Iball   [ updated 14 Jul 2015, 06:04 by Stephen Hind ]

Ever regretted sending an email; fired one off too hastily forgetting a crucial recipient; or lobbed back a reply only to think soon after "oh bother". (Insert Harry Enfield character saying "now you really didn't want to do that, did you?")

Well Google has officially added the Undo Send feature to Gmail. It's been available as an experimental feature for a few years now, but it is only now that it's finally been added to the core service.

The feature - once enabled - adds a delay to your 'Send' click. It doesn't actually un-send a sent email. But by giving you up to 30 seconds from the time you click 'Send' you have the ability to stop and reconsider what you've really posted on its merry way. It could prove to be valuable thinking time!

To enable the feature - and it really is worth doing, click on the cog in the upper right-hand corner of Gmail and select 'Settings'. Scroll down to 'Undo Send' and you can select the relevant seconds dropdown option. Click 'Save' and you're sorted. Seriously, Do It Now.